• Scoreboard and Points Live. Read about it HERE

current issues

1 - NEW PLAYERS - Players who created an account on or after May 16 2024 are not able to login to the forum
    2 - AWOL - We do not have an AWOL button under the ACTIVE tab yet. Please check each game to see if you are AWOL.

Thanks.

• Welcome to Major Command's RISK Game forum.

If you are a registered player, please log in:

If you are new to Major Command and would like to
    play our RISK game online. Then please sign up here:

Half a year on MajCom and still a 1vs1 Newbie/n00b

coolname

Awesome Player
I'm still having major issues with playing 1vs1 games. I'm not a complete newbie, but on the one-on-ones, I'm a complete n00b (I guess I am a real team player...).

My record is 0-5 in 1-vs-1s. I would really like to hear some strategic pointers for this game type. To me, it seems almost all chance. But that doesn't explain why I consistently lose and others consistently win. Perhaps the winner of jeymo's tournament can enlighten me.

[Hmm, the above sounds a bit melodramatic and AA-like (as in Alcoholics Anonymous, not AA Fitz); "My name is coolname and I suck at one-on-ones"] Anyway, help is appreciated.

Update: I already got some usefull pointers from the Wiki:
http://www.majorcommand.com/wiki/Two_Player_Classic_Evolved

Last edited:

Badorties

Boss General (Retired on a Desert Island)
O.G.
Awesome Player
Gentlemen of Leisure
AADOMM
M.C. Play Testers
The Embassy
The Wiki Bar
1v1 is tough because you don't know if you have lost due to poor moves or poor luck, or both. Also, 3 of your 1v1 games are against some good players, spazm and jeymo, so those will be tough to win.

In general some rules i play by, keep in mind i am no expert.

1. Never let them have a bonus before the 4th round.
2. don't leave open 1's. Often its an attrition war, and each region you pick up ,and then leave a 2 on, is one step closer to victory.